village of Llangrannog
around the church during the 6th Century, although there is evidence of
an early Celtic settlement at nearby Lochtyn. The village developed
rapidly with the increase in fishing and associated trade. 24 ships were
built near the beach and until 1914 almost all of the male inhabitants
were seafarers. Today, tourism is the main industry where visitors are
attracted by the sandy beaches and the unique village atmosphere. With
beautiful surroundings and adjacent places of interest, Llangrannog can
certainly offer something for everyone.
Originally built of wood
about 500AD by St Carantoc, who also visited Crantock, Cornwall,
Carhampton, Somerset and Carantec in Brittany. The present church
building dates from 1885, but houses many treasures dating from Norman
times. The grave of Sarah Jane Rees (Cranogwen), a local Master Mariner,
crowned bard and equal rights campaigner is situated in the churchyard.
St Mary's Well
(Ffynon Fair). This ancient well is as
old as Llangrannog itself, and was a popular destination for pilgrims
who would take the water for health purposes.
(Ownership of this site is
in the process of moving into village ownership, when legal formalities
a striking Waterfall on the river Hawen is well worth seeing and the
height of the water was used to drive a woollen mill situated a few
yards away (which is derelict and on
Private land). Examples of cloth manufactured
here are on display at the museum at Drefach Velindre near Newcastle
the large rock between Llangrannog and Cilborth Beaches is well known
and features in most photographs. According to legend Carreg Bica is the
tooth of the giant Bica who lived in the Ceredigion area, and was
forced to spit his tooth onto the beach following a bad toothache. In
reality, the rock is a stack of Ordovician rock weathered by the sea,
one of many along the coastline. A large piece of Carreg Bica fell away
some years ago.